Hamilton's proximity to Hobart Town meant that the region was visited regularly by search parties, escaped convicts and bushrangers.By the late 1830s the land had been divided and settled.
Hamilton Unspoilt and charming nineteenth century village Located 74 km northwest of Hobart on the Lyell Highway, Hamilton is a typical Tasmanian Historic Town combining a setting which dates to the early nineteenth century with a range of historic accommodation.
Like Oatlands and Ross it is relatively unspoilt and still sufficiently removed from the over-commercialisation of places like Richmond, to offer the visitor an opportunity to experience what the villages of southern Tasmania were like in the 1830s and 1840s.
The first Europeans into the Hamilton area were the botanist, Robert Brown and his party who attempted to trace the Derwent River to its source in March, 1804.
They reached the Hamilton Plains and followed the Fat Doe River (now known as the Clyde) up to the Clyde Falls near the present site of Bothwell.
Whatever the origins the town was known as Hamilton by 1835 and by 1859 a traveller could describe the town as 'Here is a neat Church, a handsome bridge, large inns, breweries and some good shops.
And round the village are some of the largest landed proprietors in the country possessing 20 000 and even as many as 40 000 sheep'. Hamilton's Historic Buildings This sleepy little village has a number of historic buildings.The most important are St Peter's Church (consecrated in 1838), Glen Clyde House (1840), now a craft gallery, and the accommodation at the Old Schoolhouse (1856), Emma's Cottage (1830), George's Cottage (1845), Victoria's Cottage (1845) and the Hamilton Inn (1834).St Peter's Church The foundation stone for St Peter's Church was laid in 1834.It was completed in 1837 and consecrated by Bishop Broughton, the only Bishop of Australia, on .It is worth noting that the church has only one door.The reason for this was almost certainly to prevent the congregation, which in the early days was about 50 per cent convicts, from attempting to escape. There were plans to add a spire to the tower in the 1920s but they never eventuated.