Updating billminder

Or worse (as happened to me a few weeks ago), i Tunes pops up a Checking for Available Downloads dialog then proceeds to try, over and over again, for days, to download 1.3GB of turn-by-turn navigation app update.

Of course, the problem seems intermittent and random -- different users experiencing the it with different apps at different times.

It's also unclear if everyone is having the same problem.

For others, the file might be getting installed but i Tunes doesn't recognize or register it so keeps offering the same update.

We've gotten quiet a few readers writing in about it now, and there's the usual huge thread up on Apple's discussion boards.

Possible solutions include rebooting your i Phone or restarting i Tunes on your PC, or just waiting and trying again in a day or so.

On rare occasions it looks like it takes a few days to sort itself out, which for small apps isn't a show-stopper for those 1GB apps (or large games), it can be untenable, especially for people in countries with tight data caps on their home internet.

There appears to be a bug on Apple's i Tunes App Store that's causing apps to show up as having available updates even after they've been downloaded over and over again.

Here's what it looks like -- the App Store on your i Phone, i Pod touch, or i Tunes on your PC tells you you have an update for an app.

You tap or click to update, enter your i Tunes password, and the app downloads -- but it still shows the app in the update list.

You tap or click update again, it downloads again, but again still shows the app in the update list.

Some developers are hearing enough feedback on this that they're contacting Apple in hopes of some server-side fixing. If you're having this problem, let us know in the comments, and let us know what (if anything) is fixing it for you.

ired of waiting in front of big queues when all that you want is to pay your bills?

Tired of being late with payments and being forced to pay extra fees because of this?

177 Comments

  1. Rosaline knows that she and Rob are destined to be together.

  2. Not only that, but once you upload the pictures, you can post them in as many conversations as you want with as many people as you want without having to reupload them!

Comments are closed.